counter create hit
Key Programming Ford Econoline 1997-2013

Ford Econoline 1997-2013 Key Programming Procedure


The following are the key programming procedures for the year 1997, 2003 and 2013 Ford Econoline.


Ford Econoline 1997


1. Put the new key into the ignition. Turn it to the ON position. The dashboard security light will flash for 15 minutes. Once the dashboard security light stops flashing, you have five minutes to begin Step 2.

2. Turn the ignition OFF and then back to the ON position. The dashboard security light will flash for 15 additional minutes.

3. Repeat Step 2.

4. Once the dashboard security light has turned off for the third time, the key will be able to function in the car. It has been programmed into the car’s computer and has replaced ALL previous electronic key codes — the computer will not recognize any other key.


1. Put the current key into the ignition.

2. Turn the ignition ON and back to OFF.

3. Remove the current key and insert the new key, turning it ON. You MUST do this within 15 seconds.

4. The security light will switch on for two seconds, confirming that the key has been successfully programmed into the vehicle.


Ford Econoline 1998 +

ADD KEY (Requires two working keys):

1. Put a current key into the ignition.

2. Turn the ignition to ON, then back to the OFF position.

3. Remove the key and insert a second key. Turn it ON and back to the OFF position. You MUST do this within five seconds.

4. Before ten seconds have elapsed, put a new key in and turn the ignition ON. After one second, turn the key back to the OFF position.

5. The dashboard security light will glow for three seconds. This confirms the programming of the new key has been successful.



About Ford Econoline

Ford released the fourth version of the Econoline/Club Wagon for the 1992 model year. The third-generation chassis was mostly retained, but the body and interior were completely redesigned. The fourth-generation model line, like the smaller Ford Aerostar, had two body lengths on a shared wheelbase.

Several alterations were made to the fourth-generation Econoline/Club Wagon throughout manufacture. The Econoline was renamed the E-Series in 1999, to match the terminology used by Ford full-size vehicles.

The E-Series passenger and cargo vans were phased out of production in June 2014, as sales of the Ford Transit commenced in North America. The E-Series has been produced only for commercial markets in cutaway-cab and stripped chassis forms since 2015. The E-Series receives mechanical and functional upgrades for the 2021 model year to increase the performance of third-party equipment; it is only available as a commercial vehicle.

The VN platform of the third-generation Econoline, debuted in 1975, is shared by the fourth-generation E-Series (Econoline/Club Wagon). The E-Series kept the “Twin I-Beam” front suspension utilized by rear-wheel drive Ford trucks in North America from the 1960s through the early 1990s, despite sharing many components with F-Series trucks. A live rear axle with rear leaf springs was used for the rear suspension.

The chassis experienced the most significant changes of the fourth generation for the 2008 model year. Larger brakes, enhanced steering, rollover stability control, and a higher GVWR were all added to increase handling and safety. The twin I-beam design was kept, making it the second-to-last Ford car to do so.

The fourth-generation E-Series (Econoline/Club Wagon) (Econoline/Club Wagon) (Econoline/Club Wagon) (Econoline/Club Wagon) (Econoline/Club Wagon) (Econoline/Club Wagon) (Econoline/C (sharing it with the ninth-generation F-Series). The standard engine was a 4.9L inline-six, with a 5.0L V8 and a 5.8L V8 available as options. A 7.5L V8 and 7.3L Navistar diesel V8 were also available on 250 and 350-series vans; the diesel became turbocharged in 1993. The IDI diesel was replaced by a 7.3L Ford Powerstroke diesel V8 in 1994. (also sourced from Navistar).

The E-Series engine lineup was revised for 1997, with only the 7.3L diesel remaining. A 4.2L V6 replaced the inline-6, and a 6.8L V10 replaced the 7.5L V8. The gasoline engines were shared with the tenth-generation F-Series. The 5.0L and 5.8L V8 engines were replaced with the 4.6L and 5.4L V8 engines, respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!